Map – Kansas Rural Opportunity Zones

11 Apr

I found this via Google News today:

The Governor made stops across the state Monday signing the bill designating 50 counties as “Rural Opportunity Zones”. All 50 counties have seen population loss over the past year, most of them in the double digits.
Under the bill, people moving to the zones from out of state will not have to pay state income tax for five years. There is also an incentive for college students. Graduates who move to one of the 50 counties could get reimbursement for as much as $15,000 in student loans. (source)

Which I found interesting due to growing up in Kansas.  Of course there wasn’t a list of the counties there, but there was one over here:

Barber, Chautauqua, Cheyenne, Clark, Cloud, Comanche, Decatur, Edwards, Elk, Gove, Graham, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Hodgeman, Jewell, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mitchell, Morton, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Republic, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Thomas, Trego, Wallace, Washington, Wichita, Wilson and Woodson.

which doesn’t list the county I grew up in…grand.  Finally, here’s the map I produced (via 2010 Census data) that finally puts this in perspective (at least for me):



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: